Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Rev. Matthew C. Harrison Elected LCMS President

Congratulations to Pastor Matt Harrison, who has just been elected as the 13th President of the Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. The number of votes received for each candidate are as follows:

Carl Fickenscher II – 5

Daniel Gard – 1

Matthew Harrison – 643

Gerald Kieschnick – 527

Herbert Mueller Jr. – 8

I wish President Kieschnick and his wife Terry well as he makes the transition to “private life.”

President-Elect Harrison certainly won’t have a lack of items on his to-do list after the convention floor has been swept. I pray our heavenly Father will grant him a double-portion of wisdom as he works to guide the Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod by the power of the Word.


Norman Teigen said...

Thank you for posting your convention information. Even we outsiders are interested in what happens in the Missouri Synod.

Scott Diekmann said...

Hi Norman. You're welcome!

Anonymous said...

I was told in 2004 that Harrison was "the man" of the future in the LCMS. It seemed a long six years, but it's a dream come true.

Blessings on President-elect Harrison.


Anonymous said...

Just because everything is different doesn't mean anything has changed.

--Irene Poter