Monday, July 12, 2010

Resolution 8-07 Is Adopted

Resolution 8-07, To Study Future District Function and Configuration, found on pages 137-139 of the original Today's Business, with friendly amendment underlined, is adopted 693 to 474.

Resolved, That the 2010 LCMS convention direct the President of the Synod to convene a special task force to work in consultation with the Council of Presidents and the Synod’s Board of Directors to submit to the next Synod convention a recommendation that includes, but is not limited to, the following:

• General principles of viability for a district as called for in Bylaw (b) (3)
• The purpose and function of a district
Recommendations to improve efficiency and coordination between the synods and districts and among the districts including possible changes in the number and configuration of districts
• An implementation plan for any recommended changes that will address staff personnel and financial operations, as called for in Bylaw (b) (5)

and be it further

Resolved, That after the task force has completed its study and determined the principles of viability, purpose, and function of a district, it be encouraged to work closely with the Atlantic, Eastern, New England, and New Jersey districts in a pilot program for implementing its recommendations for district configuration; and be it further

Resolved, That the work of the task force be done with great care and sensitivity to the history and tradition of current districts, working cooperatively and collegially with each district; and be it finally

Resolved, That the task force consist of 15 members:
• Appointed by the President of the Synod in consultation with the Board of Directors and the Council of Presidents:
+ Two representatives (one lay and one rostered member of Synod) from each of the five geographical regions under the current district groupings of the Council of Presidents
+ One district executive
+ One member of the Blue Ribbon Task Force on Synod Structure and Governance
• One member of the Commission on Constitutional Matters (CCM) selected by the CCM
• One district president chosen by the Council of Presidents
• The Chief Mission Officer of the Synod

No comments: